Because I’m too Lazy to come up with my own opinions…

February 4, 2010 at 4:32 pm Leave a comment

Here is an interesting look at the 2009 Oscar nominations from a theatrical perspective, written by Zev Valancy.

The only thing I’m wondering about is the choice to make it 10 nominees for Best Picture.  I get the feeling the Academy is nervous of the Award show becoming irrelevant, losing the massive amount of status it once had.  I can’t really disagree, but fortunately it hasn’t reached the lowpoint of the Grammys.  I did watch those last week.  I think I’ve narrowed the disparity down to this: a lot of indie music that isn’t recognized by the Recording Academy, I believe, is often perceived as better artistically than much of the commercial stuff out there.  But movies are different, because stuff out on the fringes a lot of times suck.  A generalization that makes a sweeping judgment, maybe. But I think there is some truth to it.

–Barry

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Brother/Sister Plays @ Steppenwolf WILSON WANTS IT ALL, but doesn’t get it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


